Continuing Education

Jackson Builders Association

Continuing Education for General Contractors Courses

NC General Contractors are required to complete 8 hours of continuing education in order to renew their license. We will be providing CE courses from August  – November., throughout Haywood and Jackson Counties.

There will be a 2-hour mandatory course along with 6 hours of elective courses required each year.

We will offer a variety of topics for the elective courses, all of which will be NC Builder Institute (NCBI) courses.

Background Information

North Carolina General Statute 87-10.2 states that NC licensed general contractors are required to complete continuing education (CE) beginning with 2021 license renewals.

  • Eight hours of CE must be completed in order to renew a license by at least one qualifier for licensees in the license classifications of Building, Residential and Unclassified.

  • For the Unclassified license, it shall be the qualifier who has passed the Building examination.

  • The 8-hour course requirement includes a mandatory 2-hour course with information about changes in the laws and rules and other content applicable to general contracting.

  • The remaining 6 hours will be divided into two- and four-hour elective courses.

Haywood Builders Association

The Smoky Mountain Home Builders Association is a North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors (NCLBGC) Provider. This allows us to offer the North Carolina Builder Institute approved courses. 

General Statute 87-10.2 states that North Carolina licensed general contractors will be required to complete continuing education (CE) beginning with 2021 license renewals. 

Requirement Summary

  • CE courses will be 8 Hours in One Single Day and you must be present the entire duration of the day to get CE credit. Photo ID Required at Registration.
  • 8-hours of CE must be completed in order to renew a license by at least one qualifier for licensees in the license classifications of Building, Residential and Unclassified. For the Unclassified license, it shall be the qualifier who has passed the Building examination.
  • The 8-hour course requirement includes a mandatory 2-hour course produced by the NCLBGC Board with information about changes in the laws and rules and other content applicable to general contracting. The remaining 6-hours will be elective courses produced by outside Providers, submitted to and approved by the Board. (Classes listed on Page 1)
  • The CE year begins January 1 and ends on November 30 annually. Classes will not be offered during the month of December.

Our classes will be held in:

Haywood, Sylva, and Highlands NC – We are also adding a Virtual (Zoom) option this year. All classes have Registration beginning at 7:30am and Class begins at 8:00am, ends at 5:30pm. Zoom Registration begins at 7am.

Comfort Inn Sylva, October 21, Haywood Community College.

Member & Return Builder Rate: $195- 8-hours of CE (Lunch provided)

First Time Builder Rate: $225 $195 – 8-hours of CE (Lunch Provided)

There is a $25 Fee if class transfer is needed, and made more than 2 weeks from class date: No transfer can be made within 2 weeks of class.  No Refund will be given for cancellations.

Registration Instructions Online – To register for 8-hours of CE on a specific date, mark the class date, scan, email and pay with Credit Card, by providing information on form.

Registration by Mail – Mail completed form along with credit card information or a check payable to Smoky Mountain HBA to Smoky Mountain HBA PO Box 162, Waynesville, NC 28786. Registration & payment must be done at the same time.

Sign-Up Online